## Minutes of Special Faculty Senate Meeting April 2, 1986

The Faculty Senate met April 2, 1986 in the Senate Room of the University Center, with President Margaret E. Wilson presiding. Senators present were Aycock, Blair, Collins, Cravens, Curry, Davis, Dvoracek, Ford, Gades, Hartwell, Havens, Higdon, Keho, Khan, Koeppe, McLaughlin, Mann, Minifie, Owens, Platten, Randolph, Rude, Scott, M. Smith, Sparkman, Steele, Strauss, Tereshkovich, Whitehead, Whitsitt and Williams. Senators Brink, Eissinger, Newcomb, and Shine were absent because of University Business. Senators Burnett, Carlile, Dixon, Gipson, Goss, Lawrence, Oberhelman, Skoog, Stockton, Sullivan, Teske, Vallabhan, Wicker and Wright were absent. Pearson is on leave from the University.

After calling the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m., Wilson called Senators' attention to the list of faculty members elected from their colleges to the Tenure Task Force. She stated that the Senate was to elect two of its members to serve on the task force, and suggested that a runoff be held should no candidate or candidates receive a majority on the first ballot. She then declared the floor open for nominations.

Senators nominated were Aycock, Ford, Newcomb, and Strauss.

Keho moved that nominations be closed. The motion was seconded and carried.

Elected by a majority on the first ballot were Aycock and Strauss.

No other business coming before the Senate, Wilson declared the meeting adjourned at 4:15.

Respectfully submitted,

Julia Whitritt

Julia Whitsitt, Secretary